Medieval Chronology

The Middle Ages--Chronology

     I.  Late Antiquity (313-610)
          Constantine (306-337):  Christianity
          Justinian (527-565):  Corpus Iuris Civilis, Church of
           St Sophia

          Vandals, Goths:  Sack of Rome, (4l0)
          Monasticism, Deurbanization
          St Augustine (354-430)

    II.  Early Middle Ages (610-1050)

          Islam:  Muhammad (ca 570-632)
          Western Christianity:    Charlemagne (768-814)
                                   Holy Roman Empire

          Schism between Roman and Eastern Orthodox Churches

   III.  High Middle Ages (1050-1300)

          Agricultural Revolution, Urbanization, Universities
          Feudalism:  manor, serf

          Papal Monarchy
            Investiture Controversy:  Gregory VII (1073-1085) 
            and Henry IV (1056-1106)
            Innocent III (ll98-1216)

          St. Thomas Aquinas (1225-1274), St Francis of           
                      Assisi (1182-1226)

          Romanesque Style (ca 1000- ca 1200), Gothic Style
             (ca 1150-ca 1500)
               Chartres Cathedral (begun 1194)

   IV.  Late Middle Ages (1300-1500)

          National States:  Plantagenets in England (1154-1399),
            Wars of the Roses (1455-1485), Capetians and Valois
            in France (1285-1589), Marriage of Ferdinand and
            Isabella (1469)
          Holy Roman Empire
          Babylonian Captivity (1305-1378), Great Schism          
          Black Death (1348)       
          Hundred Years' War (1337-1453):  Joan of Arc(1429-31)

     Fall of Constantinople (1453)