Skip to content

Other Scholarships

STATE AID-Arkansas Department of Higher Education (ADHE): Complete one application to determine eligibility for ALL ADHE scholarships listed below. Test scores, high school transcripts, and/or college transcripts are necessary and must be submitted to ADHE by the deadline date. Application deadline is June 1 unless noted otherwise. All eligibility requirements and updates to all scholarships can be found at the ADHE website. An application is available online at

Academic Challenge (Lottery) Scholarship (Traditional): This scholarship is open to graduating high school seniors demonstrating academic achievement (ACT score of 19 required). It provides funds for full-time students and has specific enrollment requirements for full-time students. For additional information, visit the ADHE

Academic Challenge Scholarship (Non-Traditional): This scholarship is open to non-traditional students who are Arkansas residents. Students must have a 2.5 GPA and/or certain test scores to be eligible. The scholarship provides funds to fulltime and part-time students enrolled in at least six (6) hours.

Arkansas Future Grant: This scholarship is a “Last Dollar” award that covers tuition and fees not already covered by a student’s other scholarships and grants. The purpose of this grant is to promote STEM and high demand degree obtainment and encourage community involvement and interaction. Students must have graduated from an Arkansas High School, Home School or have a GED; (or) Must have a high school diploma and have lived in Arkansas for the last three years; be enrolled in a STEM or Regional High Demand Credential Program; must complete the FAFSA; and must not already hold an Associate’s Degree. Students will apply through the YOUniversal System at ADHE. The Grant will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.

Arkansas Geographical Critical Needs Minority Scholarship: Provides financial assistance to minority students attending any public or private institution of higher education in Arkansas with an approved teacher education program. Recipients must teach in the Arkansas Delta region after completion of licensure program. For more information, contact Holly Humphrey at (870) 575-8058.

Career Pathways: Career Pathways is sponsored by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education. Qualified applicants must be a parent with children under the age of 21 living in your home; must be receiving Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA) now, or have received TEA in the past; be receiving food stamps or Medicaid. For more information, contact Kim Rawls at (870) 338-6474, ext. 1164 or e-mail Mrs. Rawls at

Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship: This scholarship is awarded to graduating high school seniors for outstanding academic achievement and leadership. The Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship is the most academically rigorous scholarship program offered for those graduating seniors scoring either 32 on the ACT or 1410 on the SAT, and a 3.50 GPA, or those who are named National Merit Finalists or National Achievement Scholar with the ACT/SAT score. It pays tuition, mandatory fees, room and board up to $10,000 per year. Applications must be submitted to ADHE by February 1.

Law Enforcement Officers’ Dependents Scholarship (LEO): This scholarship is a waiver of tuition, fees, and room/board at any public college, university, or technical institute in Arkansas for dependents and spouses of Arkansas law enforcement officers, some Highway and Transportation Department employees, and other public employees, who were killed or permanently disabled in the line of duty.

Military Dependents Scholarship (MDS): This scholarship is a waiver of tuition, fees, and room/board at any public college, university, or technical institute in Arkansas for dependents and spouses of Arkansans who were killed or were missing in action, were prisoners of war, or who are totally and permanently disabled.

Performing Arts Scholarships: In addition to college academic scholarships, performing arts scholarships are awarded to talented students. Criteria for these scholarships and selection procedures are set by the specific departments making the awards. For additional information on these scholarships, contact the Director of Performing Arts.

Single Parent Scholarship (sponsored by Phillips County): This scholarship provides financial assistance to single parents who are pursuing a course of instruction which will improve their income-earning potential. Scholarships may be used for tuition, books, utility bills, car maintenance, child care, etc. For more information contact: Helena-West Helena campus: 

State Teacher Education Program (STEP): This scholarship provides assistance for eligible teachers with outstanding federal student loans. The program is available to Arkansas educators who graduated after April 1, 2004, have unpaid federal student loan balances, and teach in a geographic and/or subject shortage area or are minorities. Assistance may be granted for up to three years.

Teacher Opportunity Program (TOP): This award offers tuition reimbursement grants to Arkansas teachers and administrators. Teachers and administrators may apply for reimbursement of out-of-pocket expenses paid for up to six (6) college credit hours completed for each academic year, not to exceed $3,000.