AR representative addresses 2017 graduating class at PCCUA

May 22, 2017


State Rep. Chris Richey delivered an important message to the 2017 graduates of the Helena-W. Helena campus of Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas (PCCUA) as he delivered the commencement address Friday evening.

Currently serving his third term in the Arkansas House of Representatives, Richey, who also works as Executive Director of the Phillips County Chamber of Commerce, congratulated the graduates on their academic and financial achievements, noting that not only had they achieved this academic milestone which should significantly increase their earnings potential, but they had done so from an institution that has been ranked among the top 25 best value community colleges, saving them a lot of money.

            Richey told the graduates that they don’t have to be heroes in order to make an extraordinary impact, and he challenged them to pass their investments on and invest in the communities where they live.

“Invest to make it a better place; invest in the people around you,” he urged.

                Among those receiving diplomas were Associate of Arts recipients: Patrick Allen, Lindsey Aycock, and Erica Bentley, all of West Helena; Chanique Branscomb, of Marianna; Latunyia Broadus, of Lexa; Christian Carter, of Moro; Serena Clark, of Poplar Grove; Brianna Conley, of West Helena; Shiaja Cozart, of Helena; Ronni Crisp, Olivia Deaton, and Bryan Elmore, all of West Helena; Kaleb Faulkner, of Elaine; Horace Fisher, of Conway; Christy Gordon, of Lexa; Emily Gregory, of West Helena; Lawren Guthrie, of Lexa; Robin Haynes, of West Helena; Parrish Henderson, Sr., of Holly Grove; Gabrielle Holiday, of Marvell; Kassidi Jackson, of Helena; Antarika Jefferson and Katresha King, both of West Helena; Stevie Malone, of Poplar Grove; Lukas Mans, of West Helena; Jordan McClure, of Lexa; Addie Minor, of West Helena; Joshua Mullinax, of Lexa; Curtis Plumley, of West Helena; Kristan Raines, of Marianna; Martin Rawls, of West Helena; Emanuel Reed, Jr. and Emanuel Reed, Sr., both of Helena; Anthony Reynolds, of Lexa; Bennie Rodgers, Jr., of West Helena; Kelvarious Thornton, of Helena; Clayton Treat, of Marianna; Chasity Tyler, of Helena; Ebony Warren, of West Helena; and Tonekea Wright, of Jonesboro.

Associate of Science recipients included: Rebekah Smothers, of LaGrange.

Associate of Applied Science recipients included: Lindsey Aycock, of West Helena; Denia Boose, of Poplar Grove; Haley Branscomb, of Marianna; Kingston Brothers, of Helena; Ashley Brown, of Lexa; Brittany Craig, of Helena; Devin Crumpton, of West Helena; Melinda Daniel, of Alligator, MS; Dapheontay Davis, of Marianna; Jessica Davis, of Poplar Grove; Keri Densmore, of Marvell; Keith Fairchild, Monita Ford, and Stacey Ford, all of West Helena; Skyler Fryer, of Lexa; Hannah Harden, of Helena; Sonya Hazel, of Elaine; Yolanda Hilliard, of Brinkley; Kia Hunt, of West Helena; Alice Jackson, of Helena; Arlesha Johnson, of Holly Grove; Jeremy King, of West Helena; Tyreka McFadden, of Forrest City; Gloria McKing, of West Helena; MaKayla Metcalf, of Forrest City; Quanesha Palmer, of Lexa; Shawnta Parker, of West Helena; Blakeley Pinegar, of West Helena; Sheneaka Pringle, of West Helena; Crystal Redd, of West Helena; Ciara Roberson, of West Helena; Jennifer Rowan, of Helena; Tanisha Simmons, of Sledge, MS;  Kristin Sims, of Helena; Shindawia Smith, of Marvell; Erin Stephens, of  West Helena; Alexandra Stribling, of Clarksdale, MS; Celeste Sumler, of Poplar Grove; Kashauna Sykes, of Lexa; Tayvon Thompson, of West Helena; Talyn Wages, of Helena; Kristy Wallace, of West Helena; Ashley Warren, of Lambrook; Emily Warrick, of West Helena; Tanjula Watson, of Cordova, TN; Alexandra Wells, of West Helena; Kayla Wilkerson, of Lexa; Hakeam Williams, of West Helena; and Kristin Williams, of Tunica, MS.

Students receiving Technical Certificates were: Dequisha Ayers, of West Helena; Mary Banks and ShaKeedra Bridget, both of Helena; Serena Clark, of Poplar Grove; Clayton Collier, of Helena; Kaitlyn Craig, of West Helena; Samuel Franklin, of Lexa; Courtney Gage, of Marvell; Lauryn Galvan, of Marianna; Brandy Glass, of West Helena, Trakelia Graham, of Helena; Tristian Graves, of Lexa; Ronnie Griffin, of West Helena; Jacob Heagwood, of West Helena; Yolanda Hilliard, of Brinkley; Darius Holden, of Lexa; Jabari Kelly and Deterrious Linzy, both of West Helena; Reginald Moody, of Elaine; Elaina Page, of Marvell; Shawnta Parker, of West Helena; Taylor Perkins, of Elaine; Britteny Phillips, of West Helena; Riley Poor, of Almyra; Jordan Rose, of West Helena; Katandria Smith, of Lexa; Shindawia Smith, of Marvell; Taylor Smith, of West Helena; Katerra Thomas, of Turner; Shereese Tillman, of West Helena; Fiona Turner and Britney Tyler, both of Helena; Arkeleious Washington, of West Helena; Eugina Whitehead and John Williams, both of Lexa; Amanda Willis, Lashekia Wilson, and Azzie Woods, all of West Helena; and Cara Young, of DeWitt.

Receiving a baccalaureate degree from the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith were: Lillian Adams, of North Little Rock; Florence Brown, of Helena; Vivian Eaton and Carolyn Holloway, both of West Helena; and Katrina Jones, of Conway.