New Phi Theta Kappa members inducted
Posted Date: 11/2/20

PCCUA-Helena inducts new Phi Theta Kappa members

Recognizing the highest achieving students at Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas (PCCUA), the Sigma Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) inducted nine new students at PCCUA-Helena. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the induction was carried out for the first time in a virtual ceremony via Zoom led by PTK advisors Dr. Tarsha Smith and John Thompson.

Among new members from the Phillips County area are Crystal Atkinson, Jeffery Atkinson, Orrion Boudinot, Deanna Igou, Jada King, Stephanie Montague, Sky Porter, Laura Reynolds, and Wanda Scott.

The oldest chapter in Arkansas (est. 1967), Sigma Kappa recognizes academic achievement and promotes leadership and service. The inductees met the requirements of a minimum 3.5 GPA and at least 12 transferable college hours.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious honor society serving two-year colleges around the world. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

The Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Students must rank in the top 20% of the class to be invited to membership in Phi Theta Kappa and must maintain high academic standing during their enrollment in the two-year college.

Share on Social Media